Announcements

This week's Novel Newcomer features Kathryn from Bookwise and Rita from Bookish Rita! The interview HERE

Started book blogging in 2016 but missed sign ups? No worries! We have you covered.
Check out the details on the original post.

Monday, June 16, 2014

, , , , , , , , ,

Blog Tour: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore - ARC Review + Giveaway

Tour Schedule HERE

Dark Metropolis #1
Author:
Jaclyn Dolamore
Links: Amazon | Goodreads
Publication Date: June 17, 2014
Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.

Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.
Advance copy provided by Disney Hyperion via Netgalley for review on the blog tour – thanks!

WARNING: May contain spoilers from other books and this book. Yes, there are reasons, and there may be too many to put them all in spoiler buttons without looking like a completely fragmented review.

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare? Hmm... I can certainly see that, seeing what cabaret actually means in the dictionary... but I would probably say Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare meets Mary Shelley meets Veronica Roth.

At first I actually thought Dark Metropolis was a City of Bones rip off. When you first open the book, the scene opens in a club. Very similar to how City of Bones opens in the Pandemonium Club, right? The only difference is, the main character Thea WORKS in the Telephone club and not GOING to the club. In City of Bones, Clary sees something happen in the club. The same goes for Dark Metropolis, only it's a vision instead of a demon being killed. Clary's mother was under a spell, although she was more comatose. Thea's mother, however, is also under a spell – what Dolamore calls "bound-sickness."
I wasn’t aware you were hoping I’d ask you out for coffee, Gerik. Besides, you’re the one who told me I should get out more.
Freddy is also very similar to Jem from The Infernal Devices. He had silver hair and the same personality almost – I was getting a bit worried that his hair was silver because he lived on opium. And half the time I was wondering when Will Herondale was going to pop out.

Nan, who is Thea's friend and essentially disappears all of a sudden which starts a chain reaction of events, also plays an important role. However... the many questions she asked reminded me of Tessa in Clockwork Angel, which apparently brings up the quote "Curiosity is my besetting sin." Honestly, I'm not sure if curiosity is Nan's besetting sin, so I'll leave it to Dolamore to make the decision.

Now, before you actually run away screaming "NOPE, I HATE RIP OFFS AND I REFUSE TO READ THIS BOOK BECAUSE OF SO." let me reassure you that the similarities to Cassandra Clare's works stop there. Dark Metropolis officially breaks off into it's own road, but does have other elements related to the authors I mentioned.

I haven't actually read much of Mary Shelley, but I do know the basic concept. While the author did mention on Goodreads – yes, I saw the FAQ on GR and figured that would actually help me. After all, FAQ! Go figure. – that the story was inspired by the movie Metropolis, I never watched the movie and I probably wouldn't since I'm not a fan of movies unless it's based on a book (plus, it's OLD). Then I can actually do some ultra comparisons and prove that books are better than movies. That said, as soon as I read that Freddy could revive the dead, I immediately thought of the dude who brought a monster to life and called the workers in the book "Frankensteinians."

That also dashes all points of saying this is a rip off, because it's not... at least not really. And that officially brings me to my last author – I never said I was done – of comparison: Veronica Roth.
They're holidays mainly because we get cake.
Does that sound similar to Dauntless cake? It might not exactly BE chocolate cake, but it's cake nonetheless and used as celebration. I just hope they're not chocolate?
Nan: What happens if I don't take the serum?
Sigi: You'll get sick. Really sick.
Nan: Like a fever? What does that mean?
Sigi: Just weak... and sort of crazy. You don't want it to happen to you, believe me.
Second, serums. Serums play a pretty big part in the Divergent trilogy, and they sort of play a big part in the workers' lives as well. A much bigger part than those in Divergent, but a similar concept nonetheless.

Finally, a bit of history. Political corruption, yes??? I was thinking of political machine, but that was in the early 1900s. However... Dark Metropolis is set in Berlin, Germany, and Germany was in a worse depression than the US before Hitler came along and decided he wanted to take over the world. But the way Valkenrath seemed to be in charge of things? He just seemed to be holding a lot of people by the puppet strings.

Overall, not a bad start to a new series. The book did feel like a stand alone in a way – a dark happily ever after? – so I'm quite curious how the sequel will play out.

4 Owls


Author Bio

Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.

Author Links:
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Summer Reading Challenge GIVEAWAY

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Thanks for stopping by! If you enjoyed reading this post, please consider leaving a comment. You can also have future posts delivered to you via RSS, NetworkedBlogs or Bloglovin. Happy Reading!

Share:

Sophia

Sophia is the owner and founder of Bookwyrming Thoughts. She also doesn't fit the Asian stereotype (maybe a little). She's a first year Communications major from the St. Louis area, though she sometimes wish she wasn't. Books, chocolate, technology, and music are among some of her favorite things. For more of her work, visit her personal website.

Total Views

FTC Disclaimer

All reviewed books posted on Bookwyrming Thoughts are purchased/gifted, loaned or provided by the author/publisher for free in exchange for a honest review. There is no compensation in any way or form aside from a complimentary copy of the book, and it does not influence the review.